Gerneral Rifts Question: Biggest Perceived Weaknesses

Ley Line walkers, Juicers, Coalition Troops, Samas, Tolkeen, & The Federation Of Magic. Come together here to discuss all things Rifts®.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

Dog_O_War
Champion
Comment: I'ma fight you, Steve!

Re: Gerneral Rifts Question: Biggest Perceived Weaknesses

Unread post by Dog_O_War »

poisonbite01 wrote:I've been playing Rifts for a few months now, and have yet to run into ANY problems for the system. However, everywhere I look I see people complaining about the system and the balance, but can't find anything overly specific. Some people mention the rules as "messy" or "clunky" or "in need of revision," for example.

My question is this: What are some of the biggest complaints about the Palladium systems, in better detail, and how do players/Game-masters that encounter these problems resolve them? What are the rules that are "in need of revision" and what does that really mean?

I know its an odd question, but I am genuine afraid that I'll be playing and suddenly come across something that totally breaks the game XD. What is everyone talking about?

Okay, so combat.

First things' first; the toughest character is the best character. What this means is that you're pitting a 400 MDC Borg against, say a Cyber-Knight. Seems pretty straight-forward on who will win, right?

It's the Borg. A Cyber-Knight (and by Cyber-Knight, I and everyone mean a 4th level Cyber-Knight, so they have auto-dodge) may have dodge and the ability to deny the Borg all their bonuses, etc., but here's the thing; that Borg can use area-affect attacks, thus negating the roll to hit.

And he can use them with a simultaneous attack, negating the Cyber-Knight's ability to dodge, making it a "who is the toughest?" contest. The answer to which is the Borg.

So that one is your basic loophole 1; toughest character is best character.

Loophole 2; toughest character is fastest character by default.