Making the Open House cheaper!

For discussion of the Palladium Open House, both past (May 2006 & May 2007) and possible future Open Houses. Who's going, games you're running or looking to play, etc.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

Spinachcat
Megaversal® Ambassador

Making the Open House cheaper!

Unread post by Spinachcat »

It was sad to read Kevin's Murmur about people canceling their tickets to the Open House. The economy probably won't be much better in May. However, there are ways to make the Open House cheaper for you. I am a veteran con-goer and I was con-hopping back in college when money was tight and back in my teaching years, money was tight too!

So here's my Big Tip...Bring 3 Friends. This is the key to everything. In business, its called "economies of scale" and here's how bringing friends works.

1) GAS MONEY
A four seat car will use the same gas with 4 passengers versus just a driver. Gas is much lower than a year ago and cut 4 ways (3 ways if you reward the driver) your transportation cost gets slashed. Real gamers roleplay at 70mph!

2) FOOD
If you are serious about saving money, you MUST skip restaurants. That McCrappy Burger + Fries + Soda will set you back $6 bucks. That's $24 bucks for 4 people.

The key is to buy in bulk and make great meals to transport. Enlist your wives / girlfriends / moms to cook up meals, lock'em in tupperware and away you go. You would be shocked how many massive sandwiches on great bread you can actually make for $20. And please people, for the love of all that is holy, use good bread. Say it with me sou-er-dough-chi-a-batta!

The key with food is you have to trade Time for Money. Going through the drive-thru is a trade of Money for Time.

But we want hot food! Hey, I'm with you. That's why my crew always loaded a microwave into the trunk and snuck it into the motel. Bring a 3 prong to 2 prong outlet doohickey just in case.

3) HOTEL