Board index » Across the Megaverse® » Palladium Books® Games Q. & A.

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 10:34 pm
  

Hero

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:36 am
Posts: 1133
Currently the Cyber-Knight Zen Combat Initiative Bonus gives the Cyber-Knight a bonus to initiative vs. their target (or all tech using enemies at higher levels). My question is simply, "How does this work when facing more than one opponent?"

So, for example:
The PCs: John (Cyber-Knight), Megan (Ley Line Walker), and George (Juicer)
The Enemies: Evil Headhunter, Robot Wolf, Ley Line Walker

So, the CK is targeting the Robot Wolf and is supposed to gain a +6 initiative vs the Robot Wolf. How do you give him a +6 to initiative vs the Wolf without also giving him a +6 initiative against everyone else?

I know how I house rule it, but I am curious as to what the official instructions on this are.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 15, 2019 5:14 pm
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: Varies
Comment: If I could go back in time, I would join the cast of "The Thrilling Adventure Hour"
HWalsh wrote:
Currently the Cyber-Knight Zen Combat Initiative Bonus gives the Cyber-Knight a bonus to initiative vs. their target (or all tech using enemies at higher levels). My question is simply, "How does this work when facing more than one opponent?"

So, for example:
The PCs: John (Cyber-Knight), Megan (Ley Line Walker), and George (Juicer)
The Enemies: Evil Headhunter, Robot Wolf, Ley Line Walker

So, the CK is targeting the Robot Wolf and is supposed to gain a +6 initiative vs the Robot Wolf. How do you give him a +6 to initiative vs the Wolf without also giving him a +6 initiative against everyone else?

I know how I house rule it, but I am curious as to what the official instructions on this are.

The reason Zen Combat has been debated, hated, argued, house ruled, etc on this forum as many times as it has is because there is no official instruction! If you search "zen combat" or "cyber knight" on the forums you should find multiple threads discussing various aspects of the problem with the mechanics of the ability.

_________________
taalismn wrote:
Hey, you came up with a novel, attention-getting idea, you did the legwork, you worked it through, you made it fit the setting, even though initial thought might be 'nah, it can't work, it's too silly/stupid/lame', and you posted something that only required a little adjustment, yet can be added to, without diluting its original concept. How can we not give you due support and credit?


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 2:54 am
  

Hero

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:36 am
Posts: 1133
Father Goose wrote:
HWalsh wrote:
Currently the Cyber-Knight Zen Combat Initiative Bonus gives the Cyber-Knight a bonus to initiative vs. their target (or all tech using enemies at higher levels). My question is simply, "How does this work when facing more than one opponent?"

So, for example:
The PCs: John (Cyber-Knight), Megan (Ley Line Walker), and George (Juicer)
The Enemies: Evil Headhunter, Robot Wolf, Ley Line Walker

So, the CK is targeting the Robot Wolf and is supposed to gain a +6 initiative vs the Robot Wolf. How do you give him a +6 to initiative vs the Wolf without also giving him a +6 initiative against everyone else?

I know how I house rule it, but I am curious as to what the official instructions on this are.

The reason Zen Combat has been debated, hated, argued, house ruled, etc on this forum as many times as it has is because there is no official instruction! If you search "zen combat" or "cyber knight" on the forums you should find multiple threads discussing various aspects of the problem with the mechanics of the ability.


I know. That is why I asked here. Maybe someone from Palladium can chime in.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 12:30 pm
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:07 am
Posts: 220
Location: Varies
Comment: If I could go back in time, I would join the cast of "The Thrilling Adventure Hour"
HWalsh wrote:
I know. That is why I asked here. Maybe someone from Palladium can chime in.

It would be wonderful if KS or other senior staff members would give official answers to our questions, but that doesn't happen. Ever.

_________________
taalismn wrote:
Hey, you came up with a novel, attention-getting idea, you did the legwork, you worked it through, you made it fit the setting, even though initial thought might be 'nah, it can't work, it's too silly/stupid/lame', and you posted something that only required a little adjustment, yet can be added to, without diluting its original concept. How can we not give you due support and credit?


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu May 16, 2019 12:45 pm
  

User avatar
Palladin

Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 8:33 pm
Posts: 10507
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Comment: Yeah yeah yeah just give me my damn XP already :)
The +6 only applies against the robot and the headhunter, tech using enemies. So the bonus may give him initiative over those two opponents but not over the LLW.

It is not that hard to understand.

CK rolls a 12
Hunter rolls a 14
Bot rolls a 15
LLW Rolls a 14

If he chooses to engage the tech opponents first then he acts ahead of them.
If he chooses to engage the LLW he does not get to act first.

The corrected way to do it would be to roll regular initiative and note the +6 as separate initiative for if/when the CK is interacting directly with tech opponents. Otherwise it's irrelevant.

_________________
I am very opinionated. Yes I rub people the wrong way but at the end of the day I just enjoy good hard discussion and will gladly walk away agreeing to not agree :D

Email - jlaflamme7521@hotmail.com, Facebook - Jaymz LaFlamme, Robotech.com - Icerzone

\m/


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 1:44 am
  

User avatar
Priest

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 28242
Location: In the ocean, punching oncoming waves
Comment: "Your Eloquence with a sledge hammer is a beautiful thing..." -Zer0 Kay
jaymz wrote:
The +6 only applies against the robot and the headhunter, tech using enemies. So the bonus may give him initiative over those two opponents but not over the LLW.

It is not that hard to understand.

CK rolls a 12
Hunter rolls a 14
Bot rolls a 15
LLW Rolls a 14

If he chooses to engage the tech opponents first then he acts ahead of them.
If he chooses to engage the LLW he does not get to act first.


When does he make this choice?

Quote:
The corrected way to do it would be to roll regular initiative and note the +6 as separate initiative for if/when the CK is interacting directly with tech opponents. Otherwise it's irrelevant.


And what happens if the CK chooses to attack the LLW, but the Bot chooses to attack the CK?

_________________
Annual Best Poster of the Year Awards (2012)

"That rifle on the wall of the laborer's cottage or working class flat is the symbol of democracy. It is our job to see that it stays there." -George Orwell

Check out my Author Page on Amazon!


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat May 18, 2019 8:25 am
  

User avatar
Palladin

Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 8:33 pm
Posts: 10507
Location: Peterborough, Ontario
Comment: Yeah yeah yeah just give me my damn XP already :)
then LLW can go before CK, like and interrupt, then the CK can react accordingly before the bot goes with dodges autododges etc. I-O-W the system is screwed as you and I well know. I never said it made sense :P

_________________
I am very opinionated. Yes I rub people the wrong way but at the end of the day I just enjoy good hard discussion and will gladly walk away agreeing to not agree :D

Email - jlaflamme7521@hotmail.com, Facebook - Jaymz LaFlamme, Robotech.com - Icerzone

\m/


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 5:31 pm
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 5294
Would this possible go easier if we just gave a -6 to initiative to tech opponents instead, applied only to their position in the order if they choose to attack the knight?

The +6 doesn't seem like it should allow the knight to attack the borg faster than the LLW can fireball him first since he shouldn't act faster relative to the LLW who might want to kill the knight before he can stab the borg.


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group