Board index » Across the Megaverse® » Guild of Magic & Psionics

 


Post new topic Reply to topic

If you combine Permanence and Union with the Dead you get:
Nothing, it doesn't combine 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
A Permanently fused object 60%  60%  [ 3 ]
An object that fuses with a person every time PPE is pumped in 40%  40%  [ 2 ]
Tacos 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Other (please specifiy) 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 5
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 12:35 am
  

User avatar
Palladin

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:40 pm
Posts: 9481
Comment: Palladium Books Canon is set solely by Kevin Siembieda, either in person, or by his approval of published material.
So I am designing some things for a game I am planning.
In the process of this I was tinkering around with some necromancy stuff and I was pondering combining a Permanence Ward and the Union with the Dead power. I am not sure how this would work out exactly.
My first thought was that it would permanently union with the person. But then I got thinking about how you can remove the items early and started wondering if you would have a bone that could be fused to you if you pump in the P.P.E.

Thoughts on the issue?

_________________
The rules are not a bludgeon with which to hammer a character into a game. They are a guide to how a group of friends can get together to weave a collective story that entertains everyone involved. We forget that at our peril.

Edmund Burke wrote:
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:06 pm
  

Hero

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 12:49 am
Posts: 1340
If it works for your game, whatever works, but I just don't see this being a thing canonically, as the permanence ward makes permanent the magic effects of wards, circles, magic curses, or magic spells, and I don't see the union with the dead power as falling into one of those categories.

I suppose that some might argue that the exacting wording from page 132 of PF 2nd edition, "Once activated, the ward is permanently affixed to that item or place and the entire ward phrase is indestructible and makes whatever other magic effect, be it caused by a ward, circle, magic curse or magic spell, permanent and always active in the immediate area around the ward!" is illustrative and not restrictive. I would disagree with them unless they could find evidence of other things being made permanent through a permanence ward.

If you would allow it, I'd apply the same rules as p. 132 does: the ward has to be sewn into the flesh and after a year if the ward gets removed then the necromancer and those around him are taking big damage. The sewing requirement may rule out union with things that don't have flesh to sew into.

_________________
Axelmania wrote:
You of course, being the ultimate authority on what is an error and what is not.
Declared the ultimate authority on what is an error and what is not by Axelmania on 5.11.19.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:05 pm
  

User avatar
Palladin

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 9:40 pm
Posts: 9481
Comment: Palladium Books Canon is set solely by Kevin Siembieda, either in person, or by his approval of published material.
The reason I figured it might work was because the union powers are described as "...and muttering a spell incantation known only to those of the Necromancer O.C.C."

_________________
The rules are not a bludgeon with which to hammer a character into a game. They are a guide to how a group of friends can get together to weave a collective story that entertains everyone involved. We forget that at our peril.

Edmund Burke wrote:
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 1:39 pm
  

Hero

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 12:49 am
Posts: 1340
eliakon wrote:
The reason I figured it might work was because the union powers are described as "...and muttering a spell incantation known only to those of the Necromancer O.C.C."

Well, that would change things! That particular line had never stuck in my head when I'd read that OCC before. In light of that, I suppose that it would be able to work, and there would be no need to pump in extra PPE later on. I still think that the sewing requirement might be an issue for skeletal limbs. You'd also run into the issue of MDC granted by the limbs, does it regenerate, and if so at what speed.

I'd imagine that if one was going to do this, a high level dragon head or head from a god would be a good target for making permanent.

_________________
Axelmania wrote:
You of course, being the ultimate authority on what is an error and what is not.
Declared the ultimate authority on what is an error and what is not by Axelmania on 5.11.19.


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group