Mega Damage Question/ Combat question

Ley Line walkers, Juicers, Coalition Troops, Samas, Tolkeen, & The Federation Of Magic. Come together here to discuss all things Rifts®.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

General Kong
D-Bee

Mega Damage Question/ Combat question

Unread post by General Kong »

Okay, maybe this has been done to death but I am new to Rifts so bear with me.

I do understand that a MDC-weapon does 100 damage in SDC/ Hit points per MDC-damage point and can basically cut down anyone who is not in MDC-Armor or is an MDC-creature.
Likewise SDC-weapons are basically a joke wehn you are an MDC-creature or when you donned MDC-Armor.

Now, according to the Ultimate Rifts-Rulebook there is no A.R. when you talk MDC. a 5 will hit you if you do not Parry/ Dodge and you or your armor loses points according to the damage you took.

Fine.

Now comes my point: According to the rules if you have just 1 point of MDC-Armor left and take say 57 MDC-points in damage your Armor absorbs all the damage and is wrecked.
Thus, you whittle down the other guy, then all of the sudden you blast him one last time and - WHAM! - he is butt-naked (so to speak) and depleted of all his armor but still scratchless if more then a little rattled because: The next hit will be an instant kill!
Time to give up buddy!

Seems a little anticlimatic for me. If as a GM I am not really trying to kill a PC ("And now he shoots again (hehe!) ...") PCs are unkillable if they don't push their luck to the extreme, meaning: Fight on when their armor is gone.

I played first edition Palldium Fantasy back in the days: There you can fight on when your Armor is gone. Or you are dead with your armor intact.

So, do you play it by the book and if so: How does it play out?

Or do you have some other rule like MDC damage that destroys armor carries damage over to the character - 100 points per MDC-point (that is basically instant kill) or 10 points (hurt but standing) or something else.