Full Conversion Borg MDC too high?

Ley Line walkers, Juicers, Coalition Troops, Samas, Tolkeen, & The Federation Of Magic. Come together here to discuss all things Rifts®.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

jburkett
Wanderer

Full Conversion Borg MDC too high?

Unread post by jburkett »

Hello, I am relatively new to Rifts so perhaps this isn't an issue for more seasoned players. [These stats are from RUE] So, a full-conversion (combat) 'borg starts out with Main Body - 180 MDC. Then, add medium infantry 'borg armor (which seems pretty standard) for an additional +230 MDC. For a total of 410 MDC. There is also the option for heavy infantry 'borg armor (instead of the medium) for an additional +360 MDC. That would be a total of 540 MDC! (Main Body. Not including limbs, etc). Given that the average full-conversion 'borg is between 8ft - 10ft tall this seemed a bit much. If you compare this to a Coalition Enforcer Robot that is 19ft tall and has Main Body - 350 MDC. As I thumbed through RUE a little more, it also seemed that the MDC for armored vehicles (on average) seemed a bit low compared to the full-conversion 'borg. Has this been explained somewhere. I understand that some might say that a robot (or, even more so, a suit of power armor) or armored vehicle is more of a protective shell. But, I would argue that a 'borg also has vital, mechanical, internal mechanisms that need protecting. A 'borg isn't armor through and through. Anyhoo, I would appreciate some input on this or please feel free to direct me to where this may have been discussed at length elsewhere. Thanks!
guardiandashi
Hero

Re: Full Conversion Borg MDC too high?

Unread post by guardiandashi »

Congratulations you picked up on one of the issues with palladium.

With that said one of the "explanations " is that the armor on larger units is spread out so doesn't provide as much protection....
Which is kind of silly in a lot of ways.