Chi users in RIFTS?

Ley Line walkers, Juicers, Coalition Troops, Samas, Tolkeen, & The Federation Of Magic. Come together here to discuss all things Rifts®.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

kongol
D-Bee

Chi users in RIFTS?

Unread post by kongol »

I liked the idea of martial artists in media, and I always liked the idea of chi powers giving your character the ability to do things from kung fu movies. However, I noticed that there are no real Chi using characters in the rifts setting that I've been able to find. Maybe I'm blind, maybe they've never been given much love in rifts. But no matter what, that Chi points section on the character sheet has always bothered me since I started playing palladiumbooks games.

Are there any resources that actually USE chi points? If so, are the abilities any good? Either way, what source books are they on?

I've been pondering this a while and I can't seem to find anything in my google searches.
Nightmask
Palladin

Re: Chi users in RIFTS?

Unread post by Nightmask »

You need the original Rifts: Conversion book to see how chi converts, as Palladium has had issues with trying to make it out to be ISP or PPE in places like Rifts: Japan and Rifts: China rather than leaving it as a separate and distinct thing. So there are rules to convert Ninjas and Superspies (I don't think it covers the newer stuff in Mystic China) abilities over, some provide MDC or deal mega-damage or behave slightly differently in Rifts (Dim Mak becomes removable under somewhat easier circumstances for example).
Fair warning: I consider being called a munchkin a highly offensive slur and do report people when they err in doing so.

'Reality is very disappointing.' - Jonathan Switcher from Mannequin

It's 'canon', not 'cannon'. A cannon is a big gun like on pirate ships, canon is what you mean when referring to something as being contained within one of the books such as how many dice to roll for a stat.
kongol
D-Bee

Unread post by kongol »