Board index » Across the Megaverse® » Palladium Books® Games Q. & A.

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: non-SN with SNPS
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:28 pm
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 15098
Location: Eastvale, calif
In RUE it specifically states that SN creatures with SNPS with a score of 18 or higher can carry their score x 50 lb. (lower then 18 being only carrying score x 20).(page 286)

But what about Non-SN beings with SNPS? How much can they carry? Lift? Where is the text covering these chars found?

This text does imply that all beings with SNPS are SN because it assumes that only SN have SNPS.
(vs other text that can be taken to imply that creatures with SNPS are CoM if they are not SN.)

Or do you believe this is just a typo that the writer did for "creative license" that is typical of PB texts?

_________________
Q's on this board need canon answers first for the question that was asked. Then you can post your own house rules listed as your house rules.
I say what the classes ARE even if the books mislabel them, so get over it.

Mostly I write out exactly what I mean, then sometimes get even more finicky.

My Artwork


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: non-SN with SNPS
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:29 am
  

User avatar
Priest

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 2:01 am
Posts: 45246
Location: In the ocean, punching oncoming waves
Comment: "Your Eloquence with a sledge hammer is a beautiful thing..." -Zer0 Kay
It's just lazy writing, shorthand for "everybody with supernatural PS."
They do it a lot.
If a mage casts a spell to give himself Supernatural PS, he's not technically a "supernatural creature," but he's got the same level strength that they do, so he lifts and carries the same as they do.

Same deal with Combat Borgs and their lift/carry levels. They've got Robotic Strength, so even though the lift/carry section for Robotic PS says "Robots with a PS of 17 or higher..." and not "All robots, power armors, borgs, and other creatures or objects that possess Robotic Strength..."

Similarly, when RUE 285 states "Supernatural beings do NOT add the PS attribute damage bonus to their MD attacks, but may add it to pulled punches that inflict SDC damage instead of MD," that's a rule for everybody who has supernatural strength, no matter how they got it.
It's NOT a license for non-supernatural beings to be able to add their PS damage bonus to their MD attacks.
The writers just use "Supernatural beings" as shorthand, but the rule applies to everybody.

Back on RUE 281 they've already explained:
Supernatural Strength applies to dragons and all demons, gods, demigods, godlings, and other supernatural beings. Supernatural PS may also apply to select OCCs and RCCs.

Since we've been told that Supernatural Strength applies to not only supernatural beings, but also potentially to certain OCCs and RCCs, the writers assume that we'll keep this in mind in future sections.

_________________
Annual Best Poster of the Year Awards (2012)

"That rifle on the wall of the laborer's cottage or working class flat is the symbol of democracy. It is our job to see that it stays there." -George Orwell

Check out my Author Page on Amazon!


          Top  
 
 Post subject: Re: non-SN with SNPS
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:30 am
  

User avatar
Champion

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 3148
Never noticed that bit on pg 286, nice catch drew. RAW I believe they would fall under the 20x for "strong characters" mentioned below the image from that Lone Star comic.


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group