Board index » Across the Megaverse® » Guild of Magic & Psionics

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:41 pm
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:09 am
Posts: 238
Main book and Bionics are both clear that a replacement limb (excepting bio-systems; maybe) reduces PPE/ISP by half. So does two-three implant. I note this is a change from the original main book, where a partial conversion borg could still maintain psionics.

Does cyber-armor work as an implant? Could a mage/psychic get away with *just* cyber-armor and not have their magic/psionics affected?

ETA: Spelling.


Last edited by thorr-kan on Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:36 am
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:50 am
Posts: 5758
Location: WI
thorr-kan wrote:
Main book and Bionics are both clear that a replacement limb (excepting bio-systems; maybe) reduces PPE/ISP by half. So doe two-three implant. I note this is a change from the original main book, where a partial conversion borg could still maintain psionics.

Does cyber-armor work as an implant? Could a mage/psychic get away with *just* cyber-armor and not have their magic/psionics affected?

Yes Cyber-Armor still works as an implant.

Yes, one implant will not effect magic/psionics, though most classes probably aren't going to go for them w/o a need (IIRC). It's also possible that the Cyber-Armor doesn't count toward interference for psychics based on the Cyber-Knights (though they don't use stock Cyber-Armor), but might count toward PPE disruption to "wearing" all that metal (off hand I forget the coverage area to be a factor).

As a GM one could allow it to not count as an implant that impacts magic/psionic aspects for a character.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:30 pm
  

User avatar
Priest

Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:19 pm
Posts: 42371
Location: Somewhere between Heaven, Hell, and New England
ShadowLogan wrote:
thorr-kan wrote:
Main book and Bionics are both clear that a replacement limb (excepting bio-systems; maybe) reduces PPE/ISP by half. So doe two-three implant. I note this is a change from the original main book, where a partial conversion borg could still maintain psionics.

Does cyber-armor work as an implant? Could a mage/psychic get away with *just* cyber-armor and not have their magic/psionics affected?

Yes Cyber-Armor still works as an implant.

Yes, one implant will not effect magic/psionics, though most classes probably aren't going to go for them w/o a need (IIRC). It's also possible that the Cyber-Armor doesn't count toward interference for psychics based on the Cyber-Knights (though they don't use stock Cyber-Armor), but might count toward PPE disruption to "wearing" all that metal (off hand I forget the coverage area to be a factor).

As a GM one could allow it to not count as an implant that impacts magic/psionic aspects for a character.


I wonder...if you made the cyber-armor of magic materials?
Then again, even TW cybernetics count as regular implants with regards to interfering with inherent magic abilities, since the body doesn't accept them as natural.

Go, then, for magic symbiotes...less chance of rejection and you keep your own magic. :-D

_________________
-------------
"Trouble rather the Tiger in his Lair,
Than the Sage among his Books,
For all the Empires and Kingdoms,
The Armies and Works that you hold Dear,
Are to him but the Playthings of the Moment,
To be turned over with the Flick of a Finger,
And the Turning of a Page"

--------Rudyard Kipling
------------


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 3:51 pm
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:09 am
Posts: 238
taalismn wrote:
ShadowLogan wrote:
thorr-kan wrote:
Main book and Bionics are both clear that a replacement limb (excepting bio-systems; maybe) reduces PPE/ISP by half. So doe two-three implant. I note this is a change from the original main book, where a partial conversion borg could still maintain psionics.

Does cyber-armor work as an implant? Could a mage/psychic get away with *just* cyber-armor and not have their magic/psionics affected?

Yes Cyber-Armor still works as an implant.

Yes, one implant will not effect magic/psionics, though most classes probably aren't going to go for them w/o a need (IIRC). It's also possible that the Cyber-Armor doesn't count toward interference for psychics based on the Cyber-Knights (though they don't use stock Cyber-Armor), but might count toward PPE disruption to "wearing" all that metal (off hand I forget the coverage area to be a factor).

As a GM one could allow it to not count as an implant that impacts magic/psionic aspects for a character.


I wonder...if you made the cyber-armor of magic materials?
Then again, even TW cybernetics count as regular implants with regards to interfering with inherent magic abilities, since the body doesn't accept them as natural.

Go, then, for magic symbiotes...less chance of rejection and you keep your own magic. :-D

Right...symbiotes. And become Spluggie tool. No thanks. :) (I know I spelled that wrong.)

I don't think materials are going to matter. Though cybermagic implants from Through the Glass Darkly won't count...


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 3:06 pm
  

User avatar
Monk

Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2003 7:22 pm
Posts: 21503
Location: 2nd Degree Black Belt of Post Fu
Comment: The Munchkin Fairy
The main book says it takes two cybernetic implants to impact magic-psionic abilities, or one bionic. Cyber-Armor is just one. ergo if that's the only one, it has no impact.

_________________
HELP SAVE PALLADIUM BOOKS, PLEASE!!

Sometimes, you're like a beacon of light in the darkness, giving me some hope for humankind. ~ Killer Cyborg

You can have something done good, fast and cheap. If you want it done good and fast, it's not going to be cheap. If you want it done fast and cheap it won't be good. If you want something done good and cheap it won't be done fast. ~ Dark Brandon


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 3:55 am
  

Palladin

Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 4:11 pm
Posts: 6759
just to be clear, i would ignore cyber-knight cyber-armour because it isn't really an implant for them, it's a living part of their body.

but apart from that? it is totally an implant.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:27 pm
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 3525
Actually it only becomes a living part at higher levels, it's a normal (albeit enchanted by Techno-Wizards to become alive at higher levels) implant until then.

Since post-SoT we have a cyber-knight NPC who didn't have this at all, there are probably also cyber-knights who only get the normal kind and not the SoT-boosted kind. Having TW-enchanted armor isn't a smart bet if you want to do covert recon in CS territory, for example.

Are there any cyber-knight NPCs with 2 or more implants? We could see if any penalties are mentioned for them


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:41 am
  

Hero

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 12:49 am
Posts: 801
Axelmania wrote:
Actually it only becomes a living part at higher levels, it's a normal (albeit enchanted by Techno-Wizards to become alive at higher levels) implant until then.

Since post-SoT we have a cyber-knight NPC who didn't have this at all, there are probably also cyber-knights who only get the normal kind and not the SoT-boosted kind. Having TW-enchanted armor isn't a smart bet if you want to do covert recon in CS territory, for example.

Are there any cyber-knight NPCs with 2 or more implants? We could see if any penalties are mentioned for them

Do you have a page reference for the techno-wizard involvement in the process? I've only ever read that a techno-wizard introduced the process (SoT: Cyber-Knights p. 21). No mention of the armor being enchanted is made in that section.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:00 pm
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 3525
I think I was remembering the page you just referenced. I suppose a Techno-Wizard could have introduced something entirely unrelated to Techno-Wizardry or any sort of magic whatsoever. I am prone to assuming there is some kind of implication that since they bothered to point out his magical occupation that it's likely got something to do with magic, if we had to guess. But you're right, not an absolute rule.

Of course, magic being involved in a process wouldn't necessarily mean they'd register as magic. I seem to recall something about techno-wizard items (even though they have spells encoded into them, which are usable even if the wielder doesn't know them) not registering as magic except when activated, so cyber-armor might be the same.

If it was magic based perhaps the only time it should be considered "active" is when it is healing itself? Charging a Cyber-Knight an equivalent amount of PPE per MDC healed (or maybe just 1 per 1D6?) wouldn't be horribly unbalanced as a house rule to account for that.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 9:22 pm
  

User avatar
Supreme Being

Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2000 2:01 am
Posts: 9533
Location: Hiding near ARCHIE's lair
Comment: This space for rent.
First, I'd count Cyber-Armor as just one implant (maybe two just because of the large area it covers), but I would not penalize a mage/psychic if that's all they had.

As for Cyber-Knights, I'm reluctant to cite their version is support of how normal Cyber-Armor works. On RUE p65: 'The warrior is also given special "Cyber-Armor" that is fused to his body.' How much emphasis one reads into the word "special" changes how applicable it is as an example. Your mileage may vary.

_________________
Love your neighbor.
It's Rifts. It doesn't have to make sense.
Know the facts. Know your opinion. Know the difference.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:16 pm
  

User avatar
Dungeon Crawler

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 9:09 am
Posts: 238
Thanks for everybody's input.

The original line of thought was, with an adventurer's life, I can see a lot of people getting cyber-armor as a backup armor. Power armor or body armor are better. But if caught with your pants down, cyber-armor could save your life.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:58 am
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 3525
Mack wrote:
First, I'd count Cyber-Armor as just one implant (maybe two just because of the large area it covers), but I would not penalize a mage/psychic if that's all they had.

As for Cyber-Knights, I'm reluctant to cite their version is support of how normal Cyber-Armor works. On RUE p65: 'The warrior is also given special "Cyber-Armor" that is fused to his body.' How much emphasis one reads into the word "special" changes how applicable it is as an example. Your mileage may vary.


I figure the special aspect referred to how after an interdeminate amount of time (leveling up) it became alive and started growing stronger and healing itself.

The 'living metal' aspect might cease to be considered an implant at that point? Not sure.

If it's just TW though, I think Momano Headhunters still take penalties.


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 5:01 pm
  

User avatar
Rifts® Trivia Master

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2003 3:37 pm
Posts: 14200
Location: Missouri
Cyberknights tend to only have the cyberarmor though, no other implants, so whether it has special properties when first implanted is largely moot.

_________________
Author of Rifts: Deep Frontier (Rifter 70)
Co-author of Rifts:Scandinavia (current project)
Image
* All fantasy should have a solid base in reality.
* Good sense about trivialities is better than nonsense about things that matter.

-Max Beerbohm
Visit my Website


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:23 pm
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:13 pm
Posts: 3525
Where's it say they tend to only have the armor?


          Top  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 8:55 pm
  

User avatar
Knight

Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:50 am
Posts: 5758
Location: WI
Axelmania wrote:
Where's it say they tend to only have the armor?

Cyber-Knights and their implant preferance status is listed in the OCC in RMB (pg64), SoT4 (pg32), RUE (pg67). All pretty much state "not opposed to cybernetic augmentation, just not for them.". SoT4 and RUE are a bit more elaborate than RMB.

SoT4 also has a number of stated NPC cybernights, most in the abbreviated bare-info format, but 4 are fully stated out. The only other CyberKnight NPC I can think of being stated out is the one with Erin Tarn in WB4. Only 2/5ths (40%) of them have any implants beyond Cyber-Armor being mentioned. If the a cliff-notes NPCs are take at value the percentage goes down. IINM neither of the CKs with more implants list any kind of negative (doesn't mean it couldn't already be factored in).

Mack wrote:
First, I'd count Cyber-Armor as just one implant (maybe two just because of the large area it covers), but I would not penalize a mage/psychic if that's all they had.

As for Cyber-Knights, I'm reluctant to cite their version is support of how normal Cyber-Armor works. On RUE p65: 'The warrior is also given special "Cyber-Armor" that is fused to his body.' How much emphasis one reads into the word "special" changes how applicable it is as an example. Your mileage may vary.

That comes from SoT4. Cyber-Armor is in quotes, which might indicate that it is not true Cyber-Armor, but effectively Cyber-Armor. Similar to how we refer to the CK's signature power as a Psi-Sword, even though there are aspects that suggest it isn't a true Psi-Sword Power (game mechanic and flavor).

In SoT4 pg21 the passage "When a Techno-Wizard introduced the process of fusing bits of Mega-Damage armor to the human body (made possible only through years of Cyber-Knight training)", suggests to me at least that the two are functionally the same (in terms of AR and protection quality), but are practically different (in terms of implantation). This suggests to me at least that maybe the CK's Cyber-Armor isn't so much surgically implanted, but rather magically grafted. That wouldn't necessarily make the implant "magical", after all getting teleported doesn't make one magical.


          Top  
 
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group