gm'ing tips?

For talk about all things Palladium past, present, & future.

Moderators: Immortals, Supreme Beings, Old Ones

scarecrow102
D-Bee

gm'ing tips?

Unread post by scarecrow102 »

so im fairly new to gm'ing and i wanted to now if anyone has any tips for me? any is welcomed!
Bill
Megaversal® Ambassador

Re: gm'ing tips?

Unread post by Bill »

The best advice I can give you is to remember that your job as GM is to facilitate the PCs' stories, not force them into your story. You can still define a lot of parameters up front (no evil alignments, all the PCs are from the same area, only classes from specific books, that the scenario is to save a princess or steal the Ark of the Covenant, etc.) but once the characters are built and the scenario is under way, it'll be a lot more fun for everyone if you don't over-plan or come up with absolute solutions to the challenges that the players will encounter. Have faith in their creativity and when they offer a somewhat plausible solution play it out. Even if it fails, the players will enjoy it more than going through a preplanned solution that you've fed them with an NPC.

One thing I do that I highly recommend is a post-session wrap up. After every session, I ask each player who was it that made the session more exciting for them and why. It gives everybody a chance to say something nice about the game and reinforces good player behavior. I award bonus experience points to the player that receives the most compliments to further incentivise good play too; around 250 usually. I award another player the same amount for any reason I like, usually because they've made an effort to role-play more or they've helped move the story in a new direction. I've been using this technique for about ten years and it's always had a positive impact on my groups.